It’s Definitely Worth It

Ok, yesterday I headed out to start my run early.  As I’ve told you, I’m often the last one out there, so I thought starting a little early would still let everyone pass me but maybe not as soon.  All was going well, I was stretched and ready to go, and the storm started rolling in.  You know, the one that caused all those tornadoes. I had just started walking towards the road when I saw lightning!!

Needless to say I was back in my car in a jiffy.  But I waited for a good 20 minutes and saw nothing.  By then the team had shown up, so I latched on my fuel belt and headed out.  I got a pretty good start on the team, but they still all passed me during the run.  I have to say it was nice seeing them from the front and not just the back.

I plugged along though.  3 minutes of running and 3 minutes of walking.  Working hard to keep up my pace while I walked.  Timing my water breaks, and after the first hour starting my snacks.  Somehow the legs just kept going even though I was exhausted.  I also was really excited to notice that my asthma was so much better.  Insignificant almost, and that was without using my inhaler before or during.

The sun came out early on in the run, and right as I got to the 5 mile mark the most amazing rainbow had developed as you can see in the pictures.  I don’t look so great, but hey I was running 10 miles.  Love my bangs, but for runs they are gonna have to start getting pushed back.

I pushed on and while I found my pace slowing down I didn’t stop running my intervals.  For once I did them all the way to the end of my run.  Today I really saw a difference when I was able to run for a full 15 minutes.  I actually could have gone more, but I had hit my 2 mile mark, and I didn’t want to overdue.  This week starts 3 mile runs for all my short runs, ending Saturday with a 12 mile run.

I’m trying to work in some P90X workouts as well, which are hard but seem to be helping.  The fundraising seems to be getting a good start too, and with an upcoming fundraiser for a group, and my fundraiser at the local wine shop I think I’ll be fine! But an extra plug right here couldn’t hurt http://pages.teamintraining.org/nc/rnr12/suebaby

 

Leave a Reply

